Movies are a great form of family entertainment - but not every movie is suitable for every member of the family. That's why AMC fully supports and enforces the ratings system outlined by the Motion Picture Association of America.

Here's what all those letters mean to you:

Rated G

Nothing that would offend parents for viewing by children.

Rated PG

Parents urged to give “parental guidance.” May contain some material parents might not like for their young children.

Rated PG-13

Parents are urged to be cautious. Some material may be inappropriate for pre-teenagers.

Rated R

Contains some adult material. Parents are urged to learn more about the film before taking their young children with them.

Rated NC-17

Clearly adult. Children are not admitted.

Ratings system for the United States only. For more information about the ratings system, please visit